Posted by: scott | July 28, 2010

back in the day

I cleaned out my room a couple of weeks ago and came across a note inside a folder that I used when I was in middle school.

From my 8th grade science teacher:
“Scott: It has been a pleasure to have you in my class this year. You will be receiving my 4th MP award for highest GPA of the year in my class. Continue to work hard but remember to have fun! Good look in JPS.”

While I don’t recall particularly liking this teacher or learning a lot in her class, that part in her message about needing to remember to have fun seems like something that has carried with me over the years.

It has been almost over 8 years now since that note was written, and while I’ve been far away from receiving the highest marks in any class that I’ve taken these days, I feel like people still tell me to try and have more fun in my life. It’s pretty unfortunate that only the bad part of that teacher’s message has withstood the test of time.

Hopefully things will flip around in the future. Let’s check back after the next 8 years.

Leave a Reply

Categories

